Call Today For Your Free Consultation
No Fee Unless We Win (941) 954-4000

What Happens if the At-Fault Driver Does Not Have Insurance?

May 22, 2023 Legal Team

Being involved in a serious car accident is stressful when both parties are covered by car insurance. When the at-fault driver is uninsured, this can intensify the situation forcing the victim to worry about paying for any property loss, medical bills, and lost wages.

The following is an overview of Florida car insurance coverage and recovering compensation from an uninsured motorist. If you need specific advice, reach out to an experienced car accident attorney in Sarasota or Bradenton.

Car Insurance Requirements in Florida

Florida drivers are required to carry car insurance. Drivers choosing to operate cars without any insurance face civil and criminal penalties. Despite these sanctions, Florida has the highest number of uninsured drivers in the country.

Florida’s Car Insurance Minimums

Most car insurance policies include liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage. Liability pays for damages to other people’s vehicles caused by the insured party.

Collision pays for damages to the insured party’s own vehicle. Comprehensive coverage is used for non-collision damages.

Mandatory minimum car insurance coverage in Florida starts at:

  1. $10,000 of personal injury protection or PIP; and
  2. $10,000 of property damage liability coverage or PDL.

Drivers may purchase additional coverage amounts and uninsured driver protection.

Florida is a No-Fault Car Insurance State

Florida is a no-fault car insurance state. This means that drivers file initial accident claims with their own insurers.

For accident-related expenses beyond a victim’s own coverage, a victim would typically file a claim against the at-fault party’s insurance.

Filing a Claim Against an At-Fault Driver Without Car Insurance

When an at-fault driver does not carry car insurance, an injury victim may need to file a lawsuit to recover any uninsured losses. Suing an uninsured motorist may not be the best choice for seeking compensation.

These motorists may not carry car insurance due to financial circumstances and may not have the income or assets to pay a court judgment. A car accident attorney can research an uninsured motorist to determine their income and asset level.

When to Contact a Sarasota Car Accident Attorney

If you are concerned about accident compensation following a Sarasota car accident, contact an experienced attorney right away. Not only can an attorney assist you with an uninsured driver, but they can also speak to your insurance company on your behalf.

An accident investigation may reveal that an insured third-party shares liability for your accident. This is common when an at-fault driver is operating a company vehicle or is on the job when an accident occurs.

Speak with an Experienced Car Accident Attorney Today

At Shapiro | Delgado | Hofmann, our experienced Sarasota car accident attorneys will review your situation at no cost and advise you of your potential legal options. We can investigate your accident to determine if a third-party claim is available or if you should sue the uninsured driver.

There are strict filing deadlines for Florida car accidents so do not wait to contact Shapiro | Delgado | Hofmann. We will ensure your claim is filed on time, and work diligently to get you the compensation you need.